Parish Council

Who we are, what we do, and where your money goes

Great Boughton (pronounced Baw-tun) was a township in St. Oswald’s ancient parish, Broxton hundred (SJ 4266), which became a civil parish in 1866. It includes the hamlets of Boughton Heath, Butterbache (part), Piper’s Ash (part), Tarvin Bridge and Vicars Cross (part only until 2015). The population was 544 in 1801, 1164 in 1851, 1034 in 1901, 3164 in 1951, and 8682 in 2001.

The Council was founded in 1894.

Great Boughton Parish Council covers the two wards of Vicars Cross and Boughton Heath with a total of about 3,500 households between them (aprox 8500 residents). We have 15 locally elected Councillors who meet monthly.  We are consulted by the Borough Council on local planning applications, large and small.  We manage playgrounds and other open spaces within our boundaries, including Pearl Lane Allotments.  We own and manage Vicars Cross Community Centre (VXCC) and also provide support to Caldy Valley Neighbourhood Church and Community Centre.

Monthly Parish Council meetings are held at local venues and are normally held on the third Monday of each month.
You can find the dates and venues of all our meetings on the link below and you are welcome at any of them.  Please contact our Clerk first though just in case the time or venue has changed!

Meeting dates 21 New scheduleV3

In addition to the Parish Council meetings, sub-groups for Finance, Planning, Communications & Events, and Caldy Valley management also meet regularly.  All our meetings are open to members of the public.  They are advertised on our notice boards, which we are currently renewing and improving.  Our main source of income is the ‘parish precept’, paid through your household council tax.  Effectively, this is the parish council’s (small) share of the council tax you pay.

Details of Parish Council meetings can be found on the Meetings Pages.

The list of councillors at present is as follows:

North Ward(Vicars Cross): Peter Bulmer, Steve Collings, Jo Evans, Sara Evans, Amanda Miller, Mark Pearson and Sue Rigby.

South Ward(Boughton Heath):  John Griffiths, Ian Huffer, Krissie Myler, John Salt, Keith Scargill, Stephen Thomas and Martin Whiteley

Each councillor has to sign a Declaration of Office and Undertaking to Observe the Code of Conduct, as well as completing a form detailing any Notification of Interests.

Link to CWaC Interactive Mapping